What The Hay

Crafty Hayseed Goodness!

Vegan Enchilada Casserole May 18, 2007

Filed under: recipes — clothespin @ 9:04 pm

Lunch is a tricky thing for me. I love cheese, it just doesn’t love me. I have to eat lots of fiber, so eat only a small amount of meat. So, what’s a hungry girl without lunch to do? All to often, it’s the grocery store at 8am looking for lunch. Amy’s frozen dinners are yummy, on my wonderful diet and it tastes pretty good, too.

But, buying pre-made meals is not cheap, and really, how hard is it to make what I buy from Amy? I mean, I love Amy, but I can cook, too. So, after a failed recipe search on line, I concocted my own version… Now, the only trick – actually cooking.

casserole.jpg

 

 

Vegan Enchilada Casserole

3 c shredded soy cheese

18 corn tortillas

3 c cooked white rice

2-20 oz cans enchilada sauce

12 oz package ground meat substitute (many brands, this is just one of them)

15 oz can vegetarian re-fried beans

15 oz can corn – drained

15 oz can black beans – rinsed and drained

15 oz can diced tomatoes

1 large onion, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

1-2 jalapeno peppers, minced

1 T. oregano

1 t. cumin

1 t. chili powder

enchilada-casserole-plate.jpg

 

In skillet, saute onion and peppers in olive oil until the onion starts to wilt. Add the fake meat, diced tomatoes and spices. Cook until onion is translucent. Add drained corn and beans. Set aside.

In a 9×13 baking pan, pour enough enchilada sauce so that the bottom is coated. Place corn tortillas over the bottom, about 6 total. You can add more if you like. On top of tortillas, layer 1/2 of the cooked rice, 1/2 meat mixture, 1/3 soy cheese. Pour more enchilada sauce over the top. Add another layer of tortillas. Repeat filling, adding the re-fried beans. Top with more sauce, tortillas and end with the rest of the sauce and a coating of soy cheese.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes.

Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Vegan Enchilada Casserole”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Mmmm……that looks so delicious. It is 2 and I haven’t had lunch yet. Maybe I should go make something.


Leave a Reply

