What The Hay

Crafty Hayseed Goodness!

The test… February 23, 2008

Filed under: family — clothespin @ 12:44 am

So, where have I been?

Hmm…. Well, I think I’ve been off in the land flippin out.  Around the time of my last post (months and months ago) I did a little experiment.

You see, despite being a yankee and theoretically having a genetic dislike for collard greens, I found myself nearly stalking the vendor of said greens at the local farmers market.  Not because he was cute, but because he had greens and I NEEDED them.  I had been convinced that all yankees were nuts and that greens were the greatest thing on the earth and why didn’t my parents feed these to me?  I ate vast quantities of these for weeks, along with pink-eyed peas and corn bread.  My husband thought that I was nuts.

I also had developed extremely sore boobs.  So sore that some nights, I couldn’t sleep on my stomach.  It was bad.

Despite having a degree or two in biology, I didn’t catch on very early.  Finally, one day, I bought the little experiment in a box and took the test… yes, the pee test.

I am pregnant!

Really, right now, I have my moments of excitement.  But, back then, I was seriously flippin out.  We had been not trying to prevent this for about 2 years by this point and I had convinced myself that it was just never going to happen.  I had become OK with this – to the point that we were even talking adoption.  But, to suddenly be possessed by this little creature that would change my life forever… well, it took a bit of adjustment.  And, I have been adjusting ever since.

Incidentally, she is a she and her name is Rose.  She is due the first week of May, so there may be more lulls in my posting.  Right now, our life is really busy.  Because, just to make life even more entertaining, we also just bought a fixer upper house.  Not that we’re nuts or anything.

So, now I’m in the midst of trying to make curtains for her room, paint her room, paint the kitchen, figure out how all of my craft stuff is going to fit into my new TINY office/craft room…   And, we have 2 more months to go.  So, stay tuned for the lunacy…

 

3 Responses to “The test…”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Well, Congratulations! My boobs did exactly the same thing. One night, my man laid his arm across my chest and I jumped up yelling. Even though the pregnancy test came back negative, I was sure I was pregnant. She’s nine now. 🙂

    Anyway, I’m so glad you tried my pattern for the bags and thanks so much for the tip about the bias tape. If you ever post about the bags, I’d love to see a picture!

  2. ashpags Says:

    Welcome back to the blogosphere Jeannie! And congratulations! The real question is, what are you knitting for her? =)

  3. Rowena Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS…..!!! HOW EXCITING…YOU WILL BE BUSY…Send us pictures too…

    Hugs,

    Rowena


Leave a Reply

